Surrounding the implementation of “Read-only” in Collaboration, there are a few areas that need to be checked to ensure that they abide to the read-only rules in which no modification can be made.
1. When a section is in read-only, ensure that no modification can be made to the objects in the section using the following:
- Scheme – Any sort of scheme configuration dialog should not be able to apply changes to the read-only objects.
- Quick properties – Read-only objects should have their quick properties disabled.
- Extension specific material application tools OR electrical tools – Tools that can apply specific material or electrical component on objects should not be able to detect/pick on any read-only objects.
- Configuration tools – Tools that can change the configuration of objects should not be able to detect/pick on any read-only objects.
- External/pop-up dialogs – Other dialogs that allow applying modification on objects should be blocked or disabled (E.g. Double-clicking on objects, manager dialog such as panel manager etc.).
- Special insert animation – Any sort of special configuration/insert animation should be blocked or disabled.
- Registered View – When the Calculation common data file is in read-only, ensure that any extension specific article view is visible in Calculation dialog upon being turned on. A suffix of “Unsubmitted” should be added at the back of the article view name until the Calculation common data file is submitted.
- Right-click options – Functions that can alter the price or details of a specific object in Calculation dialog should be blocked or disabled if the object is in read-only (E.g. Make special).
Note: In the efforts to make Calculation read-only, many of the UI elements (dialog, settings, buttons etc.) in Calculation have been enhanced to be disabled whilst in read-only state. Take note of what users can or cannot do when the Calculation common data file is not in edit mode.
2. When in read-only space (E.g. read-only block space), ensure no modifications can be made in the space as well as the objects in the space using the following:
- Tools in toolbar
- 3 click rotation/ 4 click rotation
- Snip to paper view
- Help line/help point
- Other tools/animations
- Mirror tool
- Apply material
- Snap/connect other snappers
- Cut/copy paste
- Delete using Delete key
- Create block/explode block/replace block
- Part tag using Tag individual/Apply to selection
Detection of modification
In Collaboration, there is an implementation to mark files as being “modified” whenever a change is done in a particular file, which is by appending an asterisk symbol (*) at the end of the file name.
Test to ensure if any extension specific features/functions being detected as modification or not when performed in Collaboration. For references, the following are some typical examples of when a file is marked as modified.
- When objects are added/removed to the section in the drawing.
- When objects in the drawing are modified (including change in quick properties).
- When the section file is renamed.
- When papers have been added/removed from a paper group.
- When objects have been added to a paper.
- When the orientation/resolution of a paper has been modified.